Z Haiku


Today marks the end of the “Blogging From A to Z” challenge. Together, we have enjoyed twenty-six consecutive articles (one for each letter of the alphabet) about “garden pests, common problems and ridiculous garden myths.” After reflecting on the incredible fortitude of the animal kingdom- more specifically the insect kingdom- I am resigned to the fact that there are billions more of them than us. Try as we might, we humans aren’t gaining ground on controlling garden pests, and perhaps we aren’t “supposed to.”  We share the world with them; they have their purpose and natural order, and we have ours. The irony is not lost on me, that these lowly garden pests will undoubtedly be crawling the face of the Earth long after we are gone.

About the best I’m able to do is to continue to hold the line on my decision to keep an organic garden and not use harsh chemicals to poison or kill them en masse. My strategy to make the garden inhospitable- but not toxic- to undesirable insects, will have to do for now.

 

Chinese Mantid,

                  Z
Zig-zagging insects
Weathering the storm alive
Unphased by humans

 

 

4 thoughts on “Z Haiku

  1. How about grubs? I have a few in my garden, and I want to get rid of them. I have a green thumb, but unfortunately some of the green is smothered over by brown. The bugs in my garden seem to know that about me, but your posts give me hope. Thanks.

  2. Great post, Chuck! And you are a true marathoner finishing twenty-six consecutive posts. My hat is off to you!
    jim

What are Your Thoughts? Comments?

