I’d Rather Be Writing


WritingWriting is a selfish craft. Mostly, it commands hours of solitude. For some, writing is pure pleasure, while for others it’s an exercise in sheer fortitude. When done well, writing inspires and provokes; it entices and invokes. At the end of the day, it’s damn hard work. Contemporary author, Rosemary Mahoney said this about the craft-

Writing is not a genteel profession. It’s quite nasty and tough and kind of dirty.

Even after all these years, I haven’t completely reconciled why I write. Then again, nobody has ever asked. I know this about my why; I can’t not write. I’ve tried. For days and weeks, I’ve tried. And then I fail and I write again.

I really like what Ernest Hemingway once said-

I write one page of masterpiece to ninety-one pages of shit. I try to put the shit in the wastebasket. 

I’m still trying to write my “masterpiece,” but my wastebasket is full.

Have you reconciled your why? Has anyone ever asked you, “why do you write?” I’m interested in hearing your answer if you’re willing to share. Use the comments box below. 


This article is the ninth in a series of 26 consecutive articles, as part of the Blogging from A to Z Challenge for the whole month of April. Tomorrow, I’ll post an article with a title that begins with the letter “J”… So goes the rest of the alphabet, through the end of the month.

In closing, I have a little challenge for you. Because the letters “Q” and “Z” pose a challenge of their own, send me a title idea beginning with those letters. If I choose to write your title, I’ll send you a small prize to show my appreciation.  Use the comments box below, or email your title to iwrite@chuckdouros.com

 

 

 

What are Your Thoughts? Comments?

