Fight Boredom on Your Run


If you have ever dealt with this, I would really like to hear from you. How do stay busy between the ears?

runwritedig

Today, I set out to complete a 10-mile training run. I finished nine miles, then quit. Well, to be more exact, I stopped. Like the scene in Forrest Gump where Tom Hanks just stopped running in the middle of the road, I stopped. My legs felt great; my stride was strong. I was breathing fine and could have gone on. So why didn’t I? In a word, boredom.

Yawning manI always wondered if this day would come. The longer my training runs get, the more time I have to occupy in my own head. Sales people call it “windshield time.” It’s that period of otherwise unproductive time between sales calls where the salesman stares out the windshield on his way to the next call. In my world, it’s the time between the start and the end of my run. Today, the moment of truth happened somewhere around mile 6. For me, it…

View original post 430 more words

One thought on “Fight Boredom on Your Run

  1. Hey, Chuck. Every run is different. As a writer I spend a lot of time inside my head, so I actually welcome that dead zone. But I do have a play list named Run Hard with really loud stuff, like Chilly Peppers, Foo Fighters, Green Day to get me thru the late parts of runs. Keep going Chuck!

What are Your Thoughts? Comments?

