My Writing and Running Goals For 2013


My friends, family and blog followers know that I set personal and professional goals twice a year. For nearly 25 years, I’ve made it a point to publicize my goals to those people I know will help hold me accountable. That strategy isn’t for everyone, but it works for me. Once I “put it out there,” I am more compelled to complete the goals. If you followed my blog this year, you may recall a prior post where I publicized my progress towards meeting my goals. It’s all part of the process for me.

Click this LINK  for my September “goal check-up”

Click this LINK  for my celebration post, when I met my goal more than a month ahead of schedule…woohoo.

2013_bullseye_800_clr_8727-300x225Looking Forward To 2013

January 1 is the date I use for setting my new personal goals each year. I have three personal goals this year; one for each of my personal passions.

2013 run goals

Running: By the end of the year, I will have run 275 miles and completed no less than 3 organized races, one of which will be a half-marathon. (note the word “completed” – a DNF will not count) This goal represents a 25% increase in road miles and a 33% increase in completed races.

WritingWriting: By the end of the year, I will have sent no less than 5 query letters per month to editors. As well, I will increase my current client workload – and therefore earnings –  from prior year by 10%. For my more experienced writer friends, this may seem like low-hanging-fruit, but not for me. I am working on building a writing discipline that includes a more regimented, time-gated approach to writing.

Digging: By the end of the year, I will have grown, harvested and distributed (to people other than my immediate family), 100 lbs. of organically grown vegetables from my own backyard garden.

Planting Seed

What works for you? Do you set goals for your self? How do you hold yourself accountable to complete them? Leave your comments in the section at the bottom of this article. 

Editor's note: Photo, courtesy C. Douros; Creative Commons
3 thoughts on “My Writing and Running Goals For 2013

  1. Pingback: Grow It and Give It Away | runwritedig

What are Your Thoughts? Comments?

