My Personal Fitness Goal Check


Every year, since 1990, I’ve set two goals-  a business goal and a personal goal. I use my birthday as a point-in-time to check in on my own progress. Well, I turned 51-years old yesterday, so it’s time to take a look at my 2012 personal goal. On New Year’s Eve 2012, I decided that I would run 250 miles by the end of the year. This would be a stretch, since I ran half that, in 2011. I log all my runs on the free site, Endomondo, a fairly decent fitness tracker.

I graphed my total running experience to-date, since I started  collecting statistics in May 2011. Then, I also graphed just 2012 to-date. For the most part, I can say that I’m pleased with the direction I’m headed with my personal fitness. Here are a few of the graphs:

AVERAGE MILES PER RUN – I thought it would be interesting to see how far my average runs are. Considering a year ago, on my 50th birthday, my longest run was 4 miles, and today it’s 10.4 miles, I expected the results below. I’m running an average of 5.2 miles every time I lace ’em up. 

AVERAGE MILES PER MONTH – This one caught me by surprise. I have been running nearly 21 miles per month as long as I’ve been logging my runs, but only 18.5 miles per month in 2012. Somehow, I thought I would be running more as I matured, as a runner. Not sure what to make of this statistic.

AVERAGE MILE TIME – It only makes sense that the more I run, the faster I’ll get. While this is proving to be true, speed has never been my goal. When I run, I am more careful than I am fast. I take my time. And that’s very obvious considering my average times are nearly 12 minutes per mile. I consider it a bonus that my mile-time is 30 seconds faster in 2012.

As for my overall goal of running 250 miles in 2012, I’m currently at 170 miles with 4 months to go. To finish my goal, I need to run 20 miles per month… I’ve got this!

SO, how is your running and your fitness goal doing, for this year?

3 thoughts on “My Personal Fitness Goal Check

  1. Pingback: My Writing and Running Goals For 2013 « runwritedig

  2. Pingback: Update | My Personal Fitness Goals « runwritedig

What are Your Thoughts? Comments?

