Sunday’s Shortie


Today’s weather in Central California was perfect for a nice run… a nice, short run. I like to run late in the afternoon. It just feels better to me. Today, the wind was gentle, but present. It was a pleasant 85 F for my run. It could have been one of those 8-mile days, but I knew better. I haven’t laced ’em up in a month and I wasn’t going to push it. I set out for an easy two miles and thought that might even be a stretch, because I’ve been off the pavement for four weeks.

I completed two miles, and to my surprise, it went well. My knee held up just fine. My hip was strong. Stretching helps. I know, I know – my running friends have been telling me for a year-and-a-half to stretch, and I’m finally listening. So now, it’s my turn to encourage any new runners reading this blog to stretch. It may be the single-most important tip I could share, save for one; get good shoes.

Thanks to my son Zach, I run in a very comfortable pair of running shoes made by Nike. I learned the hard way. When I first started running, I bought a shoe that was a step up from Target, but not a true running shoe. The shoe was heavy inside and out, and my feet would sweat and heat up. Now, with true running shoes, my feet are supported, and the fabric breathes so my feet don’t overheat.

My favorite part of Sunday’s shortie was that I really needed to clear my head, and the run did it. I had a chip on my shoulder all day because I had to work on such a beautiful Sunday. So, I was a bit grumpy, and had a lot on my mind after working all day. There’s something very therapeutic about the run and the great thing is, it doesn’t have to be a long run. In two short miles, I was able to work it out and regain a positive attitude to finish the day.

I hope everyone has a great week. Thanks for checking in.

The run that changed everything.My first 5K, Lodi’s 2011 Avenue of the Vines

 

Editor's note: Photo, courtesy C. Douros
What are Your Thoughts? Comments?

